Historical Heritage

The moment I saw the word Heritage, I had two pictures in my mind. While the first one is synonymous with my childhood, the second one was a dream destination I considered as a child. So, I have two entries for this week’s photo challenge.

I left Mumbai when it was Bombay with beyond wonderful childhood memories. As years passed, my memory of Bombay was restricted to my personal experiences and very few places and monuments that I remembered as a kid. The foremost one was the Gateway of India and the next was the Taj Mahal Palace Hotel. These two monuments indeed emanate Heritage, given their historical significance. These photographs were taken during my last visit to Mumbai after 20 long years! As I stood admiring the Heritage of Mumbai, my vague memory was brought back to life and I cherished every moment of it!

Gateway of India and Taj Mahal Palace Hotel, Mumbai

My second entry for this week’s photo challenge is this phenomenal lady with the lamp. The very thought of USA always popped up one image in my mind all my life- The Statue of Liberty. This National monument of the States is an epitome of great historical importance and heritage. This photograph was taken during my visit to the Statue of Liberty Monument on Liberty Island, New York.

Statue of Liberty, New York

 

Weekly Photo Challenge– Heritage

13 thoughts on “Historical Heritage

  1. Pingback: Heritage: Old Mill Leiden | What's (in) the picture?

  2. Those two milestone buildings do make instant impressions. I remember the times when I saw them. Truly mesmerized.
    The good thing is the angle of your camera. Despite all the traffic around the area, your images (especially that of the Taj with the clouds above the central dome) makes it look so serene.
    And the one of the Gateway looks as if all those people at the bottom are collectively looking at a live, ongoing spectacle, which they probably are – that monument.
    Haven’t been to NYC ever but that is a good pic too.
    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot for noticing my effort in clicking the pictures despite the crowd 😬 And ya I was lucky as it was very cloudy, that added to the photographs. Thank you so much, I have a lot of catching up to do, noticed you have few posts up 😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome. Your efforts did catch my eye so I had to mention them. 😊
        You have finished AtoZ again. That is great. I have few posts, yes. Haven’t written much for the last month and a half. I welcome you to have a look at the ones up on the site. 😁

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

